2010 Golden Week Family Trip -Day 2 / Part 1-

Next morning, I woke up everyone at 7ish and went to take onsen again. Taking a bath in the morning is always good. I was still sleepwalking when I got up, but I felt refreshed and wide-awake afterwards.

At 8:30, we had breakfast in the same room where we had dinner the night before.

My breakfast with loads of dishes...!

Typical Japanese breakfast. Healthy, nutritionally balanced, colorful... :)

O-hitashi boiled green vegetable with katsuo-bushi bonito shaving

がんもどき fried tofu fritter made with veggies

Onsen-tamago soft-boiled egg cooked with onsen water

A little less cooked to my liking

Grilled salmon with spicy miso bean paste

イカそうめん squid sashimi

Added sashimi soy sauce

Rice and miso soup served as we sat, so that could enjoy warm and hot meal

Natto fermented soybeans on rice. All my family loves natto but foreigners and even some Japanese people can't stand its strong flavor and slippery texture

Miso soup with nameko sticky mushroom and mitsuba

Yogurt with strawberry sauce

Needless to say, this breakfast was good and I felt stuffed :)

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “2010 Golden Week Family Trip -Day 2 / Part 1-

  1. leeswammes says:

    Dear Yoshi, Thank you for sharing this lovely breakfast with us! It’s a pleasure to look at and I’m sure it was really nice to eat too.

    I’m from the Netherlands and I don’t have much experience with Japanese food. But I’m fascinated! I hope to find a good Japanese restaurant near here to try out some foods.

    Bye! Judith

    • Yoshi says:

      Hi, Judith~ Thanks for the comment! I’m glad you enjoyed my blog ;)
      I’ve never been to the Netherlands, but I guess there are not many Japanese restaurants over there?!
      Hope you find one~ :)
      Yoshi

  2. Aw, such lovely foodies! GREAT breakfast :) And I would have stolen the little plates & cups as well if I were you LOL They’re awesome.

  3. […] 4 Jun I came across a wonderful blog by Yoshi. She lives in Japan and takes pictures of her meals everyday and posts them on her blog, Yoshi’s Adventure. I’m already fascinated by everything Japanese so I was very excited to get a sneak peek of authentic Japanese cuisine, not Yo Sushi. My last post was on fiber rich breakfast ideas so I thought this would be a good time to show you what a Japanese breakfast looks like. Here’s the link. […]

Leave a Reply

